In compliance with the Decree of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers of November 3rd, 2020 aiming at contrasting and containing the spread of the COVID-19 virus on the national territory, the Museo Archeologico e Pinacoteca del Palazzo Malatestiano will be closed from November 5th until January 15rd 2021, unless otherwise specified by the Government.
Welcome to the website of the archaeological museum and of the picture gallery of the Malatesta Palace of Fano.
The art collections of the municipality of Fano are housed in the Palazzo Malatestiano (Malatesta Palace), commissioned by Pandolfo III Malatesti and built in the early 15th century. Visitors can enter this monumental building from the main square, Piazza XX Settembre, through the Borgia-Cybo arch and the entrance hall. Before moving on to the stairs, one can admire the beautiful Malatesta courtyard opposite the palace.
Visitors have access to 16 halls, divided into four main areas: the Archaeological Section, the Ceramics Section, the Numismatics Section and the picture gallery, the Pinacoteca, which is housed in a number of smaller halls, namely the Sala del Caminetto, the Sala Grande, the Sala del Lavabo and the Sala Morganti. The museum contains works from all ages of history: prehistoric (and protohistoric) finds from the Fano area, objects dating back to the Roman period, when Fano was called Fanum Fortunae, paintings from the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries by artists from Fano and from the Schools of Bologna, Venice and Rome, as well as works of contemporary art.
The collection was first established in the 18th century and, at the time, it consisted of local archaeological finds and works from local churches, which were acquired following the dissolution of guilds and religious bodies, or as a result of bequests and donations.
Delibera n.10 del 19 Aprile 1898 > download
Delibera n.18 del 2 Maggio 1898 >download
CLOSED PURSUANT TO THE DPCM DECEMBER 3, 2020